Western & English Today

Summer 2017

W&E Today provides retailers and manufacturers with education and ideas that provoke innovation in the Western and English markets.

Issue link: http://wetoday.epubxp.com/i/833775

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 32 of 35

SUMMER 2017 Western & English Today 31 DINING When in Big D, your options are plentiful, and the Dallas Market Center is primely located within miles of some of the city's most noteworthy foodie hotspots: Bishop Arts, Oak Lawn, Uptown, Knox-Henderson, and the Design District. RESERVATIONS ADVISED Javier's (4912 Cole Ave., javiers. net): Serving the best in Mexico City-style Mexican food with an upscale cigar bar and lounge. Nick & Sam's Steakhouse (3008 Maple Ave., nick-sams.com): A great steak in trendy Uptown Dallas, with plenty of cocktail bars nearby. Carbone's (4208 Oak Lawn Ave., carbonesdallas.com): The best in Italian. Just as notable is its brand- new sister resaurant, Sprezza, which opened this year under the same head chef. (4010 Maple Ave., sprezzadallas.com) Truluck's Seafood (2401 McKinney Ave., trulucks.com): A good place to splurge, as it has been lauded as Dallas' best seafood restaurant. GOOD 'ZA Fireside Pies (2820 N Henderson Ave. or 7709 Inwood Rd., firesidepies.com). Campisi's (5610 E. Mockingbird Lane, campisis.us). Social Pie (5855 Maple Ave., socialpie.kitchen). DALLAS AT THE AIRPORT Denver Chophouse (Concourse A, denverchophouse.com): You can grab protein-filled breakfasts, steaks, and hearty salads at the airport or main location downtown. Elway's (Concourse B, or in Cherry Creek Shopping Center on 1st Ave., elways.com/dia): Owned by Denver Broncos Hall of Famer John Elway, it offers steak and seafood. Root Down (Concourse C, or in LoHi on 33rd, rootdowndia.com): Known for its farm-to-table-style cuisine. HOTELS Many industry tradeshow warriors swear by the difference a boutique hotel makes when they are traveling. With extra service, higher quality sleeping conditions, and concierge services, oen the cost is made up in comfort and convenience. Here are some picks in Denver. Hotel Teatro (1100 14th St., hotelteatro.com): You will run into a few of the fashion industr y's leading men here at their Denver home base. Monaco (1717 Champa, monaco- denver.com) The Crawford (1701 Wynkoop, thecrawfordhotel.com): It's in Union Station, so you can take the train to and from the Denver airport. The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa (321 17th St., brownpalace.com): You'll likely spot industry movers and shakers here after market in the historic downtown hotel's popular Ship Tavern restaurant and bar. BEST OUTDOOR PATIO The Rustic (3556 Howell St., therustic.com): An eatery with great live music and patio atmosphere. Co- owned by musician Pat Green. BEST BBQ The Slow Bone (2234 Irving Blvd., slowbone.com): A hole-in-the-wall not far from DMC, it's arguably cooking up the best brisket in Dallas. CLOSER TO THE MARKET El Bolero (1201 Oak Lawn #160, elboleromexican.com): Casual Mexican dining with stellar tacos. Maple and Motor (4810 Maple Ave., mapleandmotor.com): Grab a beer and one of the best burgers in town. HOTELS Dallas is as diverse in accommodations as it is in cuisine. You can find an assortment of convenient hotels, from unique boutiques to the Ritz Carlton and everything in between. Hotel ZaZa (2332 Leonard St., hotelzaza.com): Upscale luxury with a nightlife vibe. Belmont Hotel (901 Fort Worth Ave., belmontdallas.com): A vintage boutique hotel with interesting history. Warwick (3015 Oak Lawn Ave., warwickhotels.com): It features valet service and a direct shuttle to DMC during major markets. Thank you to all of the buyers and market vendors who contributed to our insiders' gude: Trent Johnson, owner of Greely Hat Works; designer Tasha Polizzi's team; buyers for Pinto Ranch; Sharon Macgruder, director of sales for the Brönte Collection; and Mollie Mauch Gayle, longtime industry sales rep and retailer at The Hen House. PHOTOGRAPHY: COURTESY VISIT DALLAS

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Western & English Today - Summer 2017